Ten Films Advance to Arlington Student Film Festival, June 2nd at HB Woodlawn

Arlington Student Film Festival (ASFF) just released the first round judging results where 191 films were submitted from various Elementary, Middle, and High Schools in APS. Of those films, 45 films advanced to second round where the medal awards and “Best of…” will be decided by the judges. Twelve films were selected by judges to be considered for Awards of Distinction, and 48 films were selected to be screened only throughout the festival. Eleven films created by the following IB Film Students as either part of class productions, the W-L Filmmaker’s Society, or inspired by independent film projects were submitted for judging consideration. Ten advanced for Awards at the Arlington Student Film Festival to be held June 2nd at HB Woodlawn.

*** Eligible for Gold or Silver Medal & “Best of…” Awards:

Amour Timide: Rebekah Phomsopha, Cate Hogan, Ainsley St. Clair

Lines:  Ethan Spitalney, Ann Chernigoff, Sabrina Shuster, Megan Wilkie

Lose Yourself to Dance: Part 1 Tom Bolles

Time Troubles: Termination* Tom Bolles, Ethan Spitalney *Advanced to VHSL State Film Festival

Iula Agrippina: Julia Billera

Murder the Musical: Julia Billera

*** Eligible for Awards of Distinction:

Signs: Lukas Draugelis, Tom Bolles, Jared Garfinkel, Olivia Juras

Transient: Maddy Miller

*** Screening Only (Eligible for Audience Choice Nomination):

From Where We Stand: Samantha Giordano

Dolce: Mary Bennett, Anna Nowalk, Chris Winter, Julia Billera

Honorable mention should also be given to the entire crew [26 students] who either filmed and/or edited the: ’67 WL Reunion Documentary. The judges gave some wonderful praises for their continued hard work.